independent contractor unemployment illinois

NOTE: Illinois independent contractors should not file for unemployment at this time.

“Further details about the new federal programs and how to applyBut for Reise, who works at a pediatric therapy clinic and lives in an Edgewater apartment with her husband and 10-year-old son, their financial stress is a bigger worry than the fear of catching coronavirus. Additionally, she was informed that she would not find out about her claim for at least another 10 days.Hurley said the main problem for independent contractors is that the state system cannot easily verify earnings, and thus, how much benefit they should qualify for.“In this situation it’s thorny because independent contractors don’t have a W-2 so they have to figure out other ways to verify their income,” Hurley said. Hi, I have been an independent contractor since Feb 2020. The state opened its Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) portal (A spokesperson for the Illinois Department of Employment Services said tens of thousands of PUA applications have been filed since the portal became active Monday morning.“While a program of this magnitude would normally take up to year to design and implement, the department worked swiftly with an outside vendor to get the program up and running within four weeks,” the spokesperson said.Housekeeper and personal assistant Gail Steinborn said she has not received a paycheck since March 13 because of the virus.

“I just feel for all the other 1099 employees like me,” Steinborn said.